Smithers calls during Britain’s Got Talent…D’oh!


Ever played DM/email/phone call tennis with a former client and their new supplier? I am!

It involves a former client (I’ll call them Mr Burns) of an agency (I’ll call them The Springfield Nuclear Power Plant I used to work for. ‘Mr Burns’ wants the login details for their Facebook and Twitter accounts. I had already given Mr Burns the details while I was working at The Springfield Nuclear Power Plant.

However, I no longer work at The Springfield Nuclear Power Plant or represent Mr Burns; yet I keep getting emails and DMs from them, and their new agency (I’ll call them Smithers).

My response has and continues to be: “The login details I had are the login details I provided.” Yet, a recent tweet I received (on a Saturday evening – during Britain’s Got Talent;) from Smithers was ‘Hey, give me the login details and I’ll leave you alone.’ Smithers didn’t even put a smiley face on the DM, D’oh!

The process over the past few weeks have been: Mr Burn’s asks; I reply; Mr Burns asks again and I give the same response! Is there a loss in translation, or does Mr Burns miss me that much? Creepy!

I did suggest Mr Burns rings The Springfeild Nuclear Power Plant in case they had changed the login details and forgot to mention it.

Although I no longer work at The Springfeild Nuclear Power Plant or represent Mr Burns, I did get in contact with my former employer and tell them Mr Burns keeps asking me for the login details so maybe they should contact Mr Burns. However, The Springfeild Nuclear Power Plant’s response was: “Thanks for letting us know.” It’s worth mentioning at this point that Mr Burns still owes The Springfeild Nuclear Power Plant three months fees, which could explain why Mr Burns is having difficulty logging in!?!

Following the DM from Smithers I actually tried the login details and to my surprise they still work…Do’h!!!!!!

Here’s the rub: I don’t want to represent Mr Burns because …talktojason has gone in a new direction – a direction where I (the agency) only wants to represent proactive, responsive – forward thinking clients. Yet, I find myself playing the role of Lisa Marie Simpson (the sensible character) trying to help Mr Burns and The Springfeild Nuclear Power Plant – even on my days off!

I don’t know, what can I do – is there anything I can do – should I do anything?

Am I that good at traditional and digital PR that they miss me that much :D Hey, does this mean I have my very own stalker :)

Well, this blog has helped me get past my frustration and annoyance. Now I’m bemused by it all, plus a little part of me is starting the love the sitcom :)

Leave a Reply

